The value assigned to the data flow parameters in the data flow can be overridden in the data flow instance job. This feature is useful when a value of a parameter that can be defined in the job flow like job flow parameter or job flow sql parameter needs to be passed to the data flow during execution.

Note: 

To override Data Flow parameters follow the below steps.

Step I: On Canvas, select the Data Flow Instance, and then under Properties, select the Data Flow Parameters tab. By default, the Data Flow parameters added in the data flow along with the value assigned is displayed. 

To override the Data Flow parameter, under Override field, click on the Expression Editor arrow.

Step II: The Expression Editor window opens, and you can define the expression to override the value of Data Flow parameter. Once you enter the expression, click Validate to verify that there are no syntax errors. If everything is correct then, a success message is displayed. 

Here for reference, the Data Flow parameter 'Date_Filter' is used in the source Where Clause of Data Flow. The value assigned to it in data flow is system parameter '$$CurrentDate'. Here we are using Job Flow sql parameter '$FS_HISTORY_DATE' to override this Data Flow parameter. For more information about Job Flow sql parameters, refer Working with Job Flow SQL Parameters.

When the data flow instance in the job flow runs then, the Date_Filter value will be replaced with value of '$FS_HISTORY_DATE.final'.

Note:

  • To save the Job Flow, on the Actions menu, click Save. For more information, refer Saving Job Flow
  • To revert the changes before saving the Job Flow, on the Actions menu, click Revert. For more information, refer Reverting changes in Job Flow
  • To execute individual job in the Job Flow, on the Actions menu, click Run Job. For more information, refer Executing individual job in Job Flow.
  • To execute the Job Flow, on the Actions menu, click Run. For more information, refer Executing Job Flow.
  • Once the Job is created and the changes are saved, then, close or unlock the Job Flow so that it is editable by other users. For more information, refer Closing Job Flow and Unlocking Job Flow